“Feather, you love yourself a lot…” from TheBetterExBoyfriend.com column (2007)

In this newsletter I am going to share a personal essay about why I chose to break-up with someone who wasn’t that bad. It wasn’t easy, it wasn’t hard. It just needed to be done so I could be open to and available for something new; something more.

It’s been over a year since we broke-up, and I don’t regret it at all. I’ve moved on; Surprise! I’m okay!

My good friend, and Relationship Style Editor for the BEB, Ms. Tanisha Everett, recently broke the code that is me and what I expect in a relationship. She said to me, “Feather, you love yourself a lot, and you are looking for someone who will understand that and love you as much or more.” I had never thought about it like that, but she is right. It has taken a long time to get to this place, and I will not settle for less than what I know will be good love. I’m already in a relationship with the love of my life: me. So, I want a partner that sees the value I’ve built within me, and I will do the same for him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Break-ups, Love, Men, The Better Ex-Boyfriend column 2007, Writing (all of it)

Leave a Reply

