Quotes – Chimamanda Adichie

‎”I recently spoke at a university where a student told me that it was such a shame that Nigerian men were physical abusers like the father character in my novel. I told him that I had just read a novel called American Psycho and that it was such a shame that young Americans were serial murderers.” -Author, Chimamanda Adichie, tells the story of how she found her authentic cultural voice — and warns that if we hear only a single story about another person or country, we risk a critical misunderstanding.

1 Comment

Filed under Quotes, Women I Love

One response to “Quotes – Chimamanda Adichie

  1. DAISY NANDECHE

    Chimamanda’s talk on the danger of a single story was an eye-opener for me. I had so many single stories in my head and they were slowly taking over my soul, but am free now thanks to her craft. Chimamanda you are your own person and you are sure to get higher because you are real first to yourself and secondly to your African roots, it is just the beginning and your star will shine even brighter. AM SO PROUD OF YOU.

Leave a Reply

